• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

First Chair Scholarship

Print PDF

Update 5/1/2011: Congratulations to this year's scholarship winner Mitchell Wright from Malvern, Arkansas!  Below are pictures of Mitchell receiving his scholarship at his Spring Concert on May 5, 2011.  Pictured are Mitchell's band director Ken Williams and his proud parents.


All applicants are outstanding young musicians with very bright futures...the decision was very difficult!

I wanted to list a couple of honorable mentions:

  • Amy Nguyen, 8th Grade Flute, Garland, Texas
  • Travis Brinkley, 11th Grade Tuba, Poughkeepsie, New York

How to Make First Chair and That Trumpet Guy are proud to announce the "First Chair Scholarship" for 2010-2011.  Guidelines are below:

1. Entries will be accepted through March 1, 2011.  Each scholarship award is $250.
2. Students (USA only) in grades 6-12 in the 2010-2011 school year who participate in an instrumental musical ensemble on a regular basis are eligible.   The award is to emphasize a "First Chair Attitude" and positive work ethic.  Specific achievement in audition/performance settings is noteworthy, but NOT a requirement.
3. Applying for the scholarship consists of three parts.  Download the complete application pack below or download the three parts individually. (pdf's)

  A) Application / Information Part
  B) Student Part .
  C) Director Part

4. Mail all three parts (Information Part, Student Part, Director Part) to:

i550 Productions
PO Box 631544
Irving, TX 75063

4. The scholarship(s) will be announced no later than April 30, 2011, giving opportunity for the scholarship to be announced and presented at the student's spring concert.